Book Club

Keep St. Pete Lit invites you to a monthly book club gathering in collaboration with Florida Craft Art. The bookclub meeting will take place in the Classroom upstairs above Florida Craft Art Gallery in the Art Lofts space. Enter the RED double doors off 5th St. N. and take the elevator to access the classroom. It is directly across from the elevator on the 2nd floor. 
Suggested donation is $5.00
The selection for August is Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance by Alison Espach  (We are not having a bookclub meeting in July.) 

Named a Best Book of 2022 by NPR and The Chicago Tribune

From Alison Espach, author of the
New York Times Editors' Choice novel The Adults, comes a dazzlingly unconventional love story for readers of Ask Again, Yes and Tell the Wolves I’m Home.

For much of her life, Sally Holt has been mystified by the things her older sister, Kathy, seems to have been born knowing. Kathy has answers for all of Sally’s questions about life, about love, and about Billy Barnes, a rising senior and local basketball star who mans the concession stand at the town pool. The girls have been fascinated by Billy ever since he jumped off the roof in elementary school, but Billy has never shown much interest in them until the summer before Sally begins eighth grade. By then, their mutual infatuation with Billy is one of the few things the increasingly different sisters have in common. Sally spends much of that summer at the pool, watching in confusion and excitement as her sister falls deeper in love with Billy—until a tragedy leaves Sally’s life forever intertwined with his.

Opening in the early nineties and charting almost two decades of shared history and missed connections,
Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance is both a breathtaking love story about two broken people who are unexplainably, inconveniently drawn to each other and a wryly astute coming-of-age tale brimming with unexpected moments of joy.

 

Date: Wednesday, August 7th

Time: 6:30-7:30pm

Location: Art Lofts at Florida Craft Art

10 5th St. N. St. Pete

 

Upcoming Book Club picks: 

September: When We Were Sisters by Fatimah Asghar

October: Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut